Tacita Dean on Ballard & Getty Spiral|the Guardian

As me myself I’m writing on Ballard works for my PhD Thesis, is great to share this amazing text writen by one of my fetish artist Tacita Dean…

I first wrote to JG Ballard about Donald Crowhurst, the lone yachtsman who disappeared at sea in 1969 after his failed attempt to be first to sail non-stop around the world. I had just returned from photographing Crowhurst’s abandoned trimaran on the Caribbean island of Cayman Brac, so I sent him a picture of it and asked what he thought. The name, Crowhurst, at the very least, sounded like one of his characters. I received a letter back in what became his familiar handsome handwriting on his Shepperton-headed notepaper. No, he had no particular interest in Crowhurst and considered him to have been a foolish man, but his boat looked like one of those second world war crashed aircraft still being found in the jungles of the Pacific islands, which he supposed, in a way, it was…

read the complete article

Responder

